The Aphrodite project

So, this is the period of finals here, and my roommate had a quite cruel exam period this time so he was always saying he would go back to shape right after his exams. He was saying this so seriously, promised to go back to the gym and will be on a diet again and he would look good so I started to say he would turn himself into Adonis and make himself irresistible. This wasn’t the best half-year for me either, considering diet and workouts (I had a serious tooth problem, rewarded with periostitis, some stomach problems because of the medicine I got, too much work, too much stress, etc) so I also put on some weight and unfortunately lost muscle mass. I started to workout a month ago, I followed Melissa Bender’s 12-week program, but I still didn’t pay attention to my diet (shameful for a holistic nutritionist wannabe and active weight loss nutritionist, isn’t it? :P). My weight or look hasn’t changed, but at least I feel much better. But I bought a beautiful summer dress that would look much better if I lost a few centimeters that would be put on my arms but in the form of lean muscles.

mangodress

So, I decided to join him with the Adonis project, hence, I choose the girlish Aphrodite project name. The first part of the project will be to make my roommate not to hate his body. Earlier I thought only women hate their  bodies but in the past few years I have worked with men on their weight loss and had to realize they can hate themselves even more than women.

I have different steps in the Greek project (Adonis/Aphrodite project) for us, all is equally important to fulfill:

1. Love our body

2. Start the most suitable workout program for us (I always enjoy writing workout plans for others, it’s always very exciting how their body will react)

3. Follow a personalized diet (Tricky, more time-consuming with the long questionnaires, but it’s worth it)

4. Be a master of stress relief (mission impossible?)

5. Be happy, enjoy summer, spend time with friends and hobbies

A month ago I wrote that I will follow the whole 12-week program with Melissa Bender. But as usual, I have excuses. I AM the queen of excuses ;) I enjoyed the exercises very much and I definitely will incorporate these videos in my workout plan but honestly, I hardly can build muscles and I need weight training to see better results. So, I decided to mix my own workout plan with Melissa’s videos. Twice a week, I will do my old-school dumbbell-kettlebell trainings, I will count in my two Pilates classes as workout since they are advanced and on the remaining days I will follow Melissa’s (mostly) bodyweight workouts. This will be the best for me. I know my body, this is what makes visible results, however, I’m glad I did this month with Melissa’s workouts because I started to enjoy following workout videos again. Earlier I trained a lot at home, following videos but when I started to have many fitness classes, I always skipped them and I got used to avoiding them. But now I enjoy them again, which is a huge relief because it’s often enjoyable to take part in other professional trainers’ classes. If not IRL, at least online.

Wanna join? Do you need any changes in your life? In your diet or workouts or… well, perhaps in the time you devote to yourself?

Leave a comment